The Moxon Saw

Image   

First, let me introduce myself: my name is Kevin Reeves, owner and operator of North Wind Toolworks.

Image

At the top  of the page is my interpretation of the saw in plate 4 of Joseph Moxon’s Mechanick Exercises. It’s made mostly to scale, with my own touches to make it  comfortable and nice looking. I say mostly to scale, because if I’d exactly followed it to scale, it would have felt like holding a sharp, weird, banana-shaped stick! Not a comfy saw, and of course we can’t take the drawing in plate 4 as a literal example of what the saw was like, as it’s only a wee sketch.

 I embellished, and added my own touches, to create a form that I am truly happy with. I find myself often reaching for this saw, mostly for secondary cuts (quickly knocking down a small board or dowel, cutting a kerf for the wedge in a hammer handle, etc.), but the saw is capable of rough joinery (don’t expect it to replace your dovetail saw). The saw is fairly aggressive, and is a bit jumpy to start, but once the kerf is established, cuts very nicely, both rip and crosscut, even though it is essentially a rip saw.  The handle on this one is figured maple. I’ll post more in the future about the Moxon saw in use.    

When I first began working on creating this saw, it seemed really goofy, and just plain wrong. I was thinking that whoever designed it perhaps had powdered their wig a bit too much that day, or dipped into the glue pot one time too many. But as I chipped away and designed something that could be used comfortably, I saw its beauty and simplicity. On first inspection, the top horn looks all wrong, but I found it facilitates a nice overhand grip for ripping. So powder up your wigs, tighten them shoe buckles, and get to sawing! No fleam, thank you.

Image

 A note about my split nut hardware on the saws: You may notice that the bolt itself has two little indents in the head. Not a traditional form. So in this regard my hardware isn’t strictly traditional. I feel it is superior to traditional split nuts, as you can easily crank down your saw bolts when needed, and not strip out your split nuts. A small screw driver or split nut driver can be inserted into the split nut to hold it stationary if needed, while tightening or loosening the saw bolt. A special driver for my hardware is included with each saw order. ImageImage

Leave a Reply

